5 Places to Celebrate Tampa’s Taco Tuesday

Some of my favorite things in life are finding good deals and eating spicy food. Tampa offers a wide variety of Mexican restaurants with great Tuesday specials and great prices every day of the week.

1. Ceviche

7891_10151430514130766_1642608137_n

Ceviche is actually a Spanish tapas bar and restaurant but I decided to make it number one on my list for its amazing food and atmosphere. The restaurant has live music and both indoor and outdoor seating. Instead of Taco Tuesday Ceviche celebrates Tapas Tuesday, where all tapas are $4 and sangria is $4. Ceviche has three different types of sangria, red, white and champagne. I personally like red the best, but for $4 why not try them all?

I often go to Ceviche with my friend Kelsey Harrell who introduced me to the restaurant.

“I absolutely love Ceviche. My favorite day to go is Tuesday for their specials,” said Harrell. “I personally recommend their patatas bravas. These are baked potato pieces with a spicy sauce on top.”

971460_10151428918305766_870676234_n

Ceviche is located at 2500 W. Azeele St. Tampa, FL 33609.

2. The Green Lemon

1231564_10151848717749578_1260922300_n

The Green Lemon goes out of their way to give guests a great experience. The first time I went to the restaurant I got a complimentary Bananas Fosters dessert for being a first time guest. If you can’t wait to get your Taco fix until Tuesday the Green Lemon has $5 Margaritas and $10 Margaronas to take the edge off your case of the Monday blues. On Tuesday you can take advantage of $2 tacos and a live DJ.

“I like the small quant environment and fun crowd at the Green Lemon,” said Bobby Bishop. “Get the bowls, they’re like tacos in a rice bowl.”

The Green Lemon is located at 915 S. Howard Ave. Tampa, FL 33606.

3. California Tacos

5009215927_73ed50b105

California Tacos has authentic Cali tacos with great prices every day of the week. The small restaurant is mainly ordering to go which is perfect for me when I want some delicious tacos to take home for dinner. If you do prefer to stick around and eat there is outdoor seating to enjoy the beautiful Florida weather, just make sure to go on a day that it isn’t raining. I had always wanted to try fish tacos and knew that California Tacos was the best place to do so.  The fresh food and great prices keep me coming back for fish tacos with hot red sauce. Did I forget to mention that California Tacos was also featured on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives on the Food Network, so you know their food has to be good.

California Tacos is located at 1450 Skipper Road  Tampa, FL 33613.

4. TacoSon

Unknown

I know that most people claim that Taco Bus has the best authentic Mexican food, but those people must not have tried TacoSon. The restaurant is a quaint family owned and operated restaurant with a dine in area and drive through. The seating inside reminds me of a fast food chain from the 1990s but the food does not. TacoSon has traditional mexican meat such as pollo (chicken), carne asada (steak), puerço asado (grilled pork), cochinita pibil (shredded pork), barbacoa (shredded beef), chicharron en salsa verde (chicharron in green salsa) and leguna (beef tongue) for the daring. I personally played it safe with chicken tacos and was impressed by how flavorful the meat was.

TacoSon is located at 7521 N. 56th St.  Tampa, FL 33617.

5. Tijuana Flats

images

Two tacos, chips and a drink for $4.99 and a location right next to the USF campus makes Tijuana Flats the place to be on a Tuesday night. Although I normally am not a fan of chains Tijuana Flats is my exception. The first time I went  to Tijuana Flats I didn’t even know it was a chain because of the unique dining atmosphere and vibrant paintings on the wall and celling. The best part about it being a chain is that I can get Taco Tuesday almost anywhere with their 96 locations, even in my small hometown, Stuart, Florida.

“My favorite thing about Tijuana Flats is their hot sauce bar,” said Leah Bebey. “They have so many different types and I usually come back to the table with six different types.”

Tijuana Flats is located at 2782 E. Fowler Ave. Tampa. Other locations can be found here.

Leave a comment